Skip to content

Day 2 Montreal Jazzfest reviews, previews and pics

June 29, 2012

Alright, I`ve got last night´s grogginess knocked out of my head and am ready to get to “work”

Image

First I saw Rafael Zaldivar at  Astral (I would spell it with the apostrophe but I`m using a french keyboard and can`t figure this thing out: see?) His trio was very good and he had some great guests including Greg Osby in the second set.  His music was great, the playing was just awkward and Monk influenced to keep me happy… the only bad thing I can say is that he really needs to work on his endings.  They were kind of abrupt yet kind of faded at the same time.. I just didn`t get it.  They did however do a great version oh Chan Chan.

The big show for me last night was Spectrum Road.  A Tony Williams tribute featuring Jack Bruce (Cream) Vernon Reid (Living Color) Cindy Blackman Santana (you probably remember her from the Lenny Kravitz band, and yes she`s married to Carlos) and John Medeski (MMW)

This show was HEAVY, seriously heavier than most of the metal shows I`ve seen – and that`s a lot of metal.  For the first 20 minutes I could not stop watching Cindy, one of the sickest drummers around, Vernon`s guitar playing was mind blowing.  Jack`s bass is the closest I`ve heard to Geezer Butler and when he sang it was the exact same voice from the Cream Records.  Medeski did a great job adding colour, and when he solo`d he shone.  This was a show for hardcore music fans, a lot of people walked out.  I leaned over to my buddy and said that they must have been expecting to hear “White Room”  His response was “they must not have realized that they need to take acid for this show”.   It`s always great when a show the first night blows you away, now the rest of the week has to trump it.

 

 

 

I was thinking about it and since I`m doing this blog on my own and not linking it to any of the companies I work for I don`t have to worry about posting pictures like this

 

 

 

 

I`m still waiting to find out what I`ll be seeing tonight.  At 6pm I`ll be hitting the jazz beat series for David Sánchez, Nick Payton and Stefon Harris.  I`m a big fan of Stefon`s playing so it should be pretty sweet.

Then I`m hoping for Stanley Clarke and The Harlem string quartet in the invitation series, the legendary Wayne Shorter in Theatre Maisoneuve, and Colin Stetson in the Jazz dans la nuit at Gesu.  I don`t know much about Colin, but I have never seen a bad show in that series.

If you get to see Esperanza Spalding or Johnny Clegg (or anything else) please let me know about it on my facebook page

The long weekend begins tomorrow, so I`ll be doing the morning shows with Dave Fisher on cjad.  Looks like I`ll be exhausted but I`ll be talking about the fest on air for the next three days

And oh yeah, come down during the day and see Streetnix.  They have played every single jazzfest.  It wouldn`t be the same if I didn`t get to hear their cover of the Average White Band at least once a year!

Image

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

